Baca County

Baca County

Baca County is located in the Southeastern corner of Colorado bordered by New Mexico, Oklahoma and Kansas.  Baca County was created by the Colorado legislature on April 16, 1889, out of eastern portions of Las Animas County. Baca County was named in honor of pioneer and Colorado territorial legislator Felipe Baca.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,557 square miles (6,620 km2), of which 2,555 square miles (6,620 km2) is land and 2.4 square miles (6.2 km2) (0.09%) is water. Baca County is 55 miles long east to west and 44 miles wide north to south. The elevation ranges from 3,400 to 5,198 within the county.  

Baca County is a destination for history and nature lovers with sixty-four rustic stone, brick, and concrete New Deal era landmarks that are still standing. Visitors who enjoy the outdoors can explore the ancient Indian petroglyphs in the canyons of the Comanche National Grasslands.  As well as Two Buttes reservoir and Turks Pond. 

Current Projects

Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy

2021 DRAFT CEDS The 2021 SCEDD CEDS is currently available for public review below in draft form. A special meeting of the SCEDD Board is set for September 22, 2021 to consider public comments prior to the final adoption and submittal to the EDA. Thank you for taking time to review the proposed 2021 - 2026

Shop Local in South-East Colorado

Our friends on the Eastern Plains have developed a one stop shop and web presence for small businesses there. Click on the images to purchase gift certificates from a range of boutique clothing, food, décor, and personal services businesses.

Salute to these organization for making happen:

Bent County Development Foundation
BCEDS (Baca County Economic Development Foundation)
KCEDF (Kiowa County Economic Development Foundation)
Prowers Economic Prosperity
Otero County
Crowley County
The cities of Rocky Ford and La Junta
La Junta Main Street
SEBREA (Southeast Colorado Business Retention, Expansion, Attraction Program)
SBDC of Southeast Colorado (Small Business Development Center)
SECED (Southeast Colorado Enterprise Development)